5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

told you so

Leave a comment

 

Told you so- Here’s a blog for now but I’m not going away. Here’s why, Demographics of internet users say that older adults that be me (I can pass for younger) are embracing social media. Seniors are increasing our use of social media. I’m telling you, it has it rewards. Seventy-five percent of 50 to 60 year olds are online. Remember my friend I referred to (O brave one) who got it? The study says that educated seniors are more likely to go on the internet than those less educated. Who cares? Go my fellow late boomers and bloomers! Just go!

Non profits who work with older people are being asked to teach them how to navigate on line which includes social media in my humble opinion.  As a matter of fact, getting someone with patience who could teach me like I was a 6-year old was a huge task and a huge scare.  Recall, the monster that was going to eat me? I was genuinely afraid that life would pass me by if I didn’t get with it.

While we’re on the subject here’s some interesting tips when teaching late gamers: 1) we are not sitting back. Don’t ignore us, 2) new technologies are not for the young and the tech-savvy; it’s made to empower everyone (that’s what I’m talking bout)  3) accessibility has to be  built into the planning process for new products from the start with consideration of size and physical ability and 4)  education for new products should be made available for seniors and late gamers so that we don’t  become victims of the fall behind in the digital divide. For nonprofits and others who are waiting for boomers to die off, remember we have something to say and something to give to people all over the world. Here’s the thing? You want my money well…. Give me something honey. Let’s help each other.

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

Leave a Reply

