5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

Social Media and eating disorders

Leave a comment

flowers
http://www.lohud.com/story/news/2014/05/31/social-media-fuels-eating-disorders/9829419/

I have been very busy working on my social media homework assignments just as all of my cohorts have been too. I came across this posting while looking for information to blog, tweet, pinterest etc…

I am learning lots about the ups and downs, the good the bad and the ugly of several media avenues. This stopped me in my tracks. What? There are sites to give you tips on how to be anorexic and bulimic. The different sites exchange pictures, information and “thinspirational” messages.

30 million Americans (20 million are woman and 10 million are men) are diagnosed with a eating disorders at some time in their life

My heart is pounding, my hands are sweating, tears rolling down my face, I can barely even type this information out on this blog post. I am so freaked out about this. How can there even be such a thing? I am outraged!

This is a lot for me to take in and process right now. Do not know what my next move is going to be. I will not stop at writing this post and do nothing.

I will take a stand and use the new skills of social media for the good to help educate and promote healthy eating.

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

Leave a Reply

