5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

How Social Media Has Changed How We Shop.

Leave a comment

Recently, I realized that I may need a new handset at home. Two of them worked fine. You are probably confused, what am I talking about? Yes, I admit that I still have a land phone line and I’m not giving it up. I am not very competitive, so the Jone’s are winning( keeping up w/the Jones’-old slang term for not having the latest products).Since I do not presently have a smartphone, I do hybrid shopping, meaning that I must check for products online at home and go to stores. I am not a large fan of making the purchase online. I want to see the actual product, especially a phone system. My partner is very particular about the options available. It can’t have a built in answering system, needs to be certain color, amount of handsets, etc

Image

So we found what we wanted online, and then proceeded to go to that particular brick-and-mortar store. The system we chose wasn’t what we wanted or needed after close inspection at the store. There was nothing there that was even a consideration. We then had to go to a second store, a different company. They, too, did not have what we wanted. I like to shop, he hates to shop. We have a problem! We decided to deal with this another day.

There is a bright side to this story. When we arrived home, we realized that we don’t need to buy a new phone system. The base for the handset was not fully plugged in, it was not getting the proper amount of energy from the outlet. Lesson learned: sometimes it pays to not keep up with the Jones’. If we had been using a smartphone for our shopping, we would have been spending money we don’t really have at another physical store to buy a product we don’t need.

Image

I miss the days of getting out the Montgomery Wards or Sears catalog to find what you need. You made an order on the phone and then went to the store to pick up. Most of the time, the store had what you wanted. It was one trip to the store provided that you liked your purchase. TAM

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

Leave a Reply

