5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

Social Media Fits (MSG)

Leave a comment

Here I am, debating how social media should  fit in my personal life and my professional life. Before the class I am currently taken in the Public Relations Program at the Tadota Institute, I had literally been a snob when it comes to participating in such a trivial show of self-proclaimed talents, and such a staggering amount of indecencies… Well, this is the resistance I had build against it. What is the point of the masses telling me how to dress, think and watch? What do they know?…

But as the days go by in Social Media class, I observe in the many sites we study, the genius behind it all. Yes, a bit ashamed of saying out loud, well… in writing, I have finally come to terms about how one can build an “army of followers”. If well executed, social media and its many channels have truly invented a global, continuous and unparallel communications that did not exist before it.

A sign of progress?? In one hand, I truly believe that it is a sign of progress. So many ideas at the reach of all. So many possibilities to test and get feedback on. Its efficiency is remarkable and can be extremely effective.

Image 

Of course, here is the other side, because to be fair, I have to explore all sides:

I get a bit hesitant because so many possibilities and options are out there… Everyone is putting their input, many completely invalid. My reluctant self can’t help to think about the generation that do not know life before the internet, and may not fathom how its relevance is absolute in the grand skim of things. A person is not more important because you have a YouTube channel, or because, one is constantly Tweeting about how they feel “this morning”, or how many friends one has on Facebook, or how many selfies a person has on Instagram.

In a nutshell, Social Media is non existent in my personal life, and perhaps in a few years, this fact will be a sign of anomaly in one’s social life? That said, a company will benefit in the fact that everyone is on Social Media and it is a source of real marketing opportunity and it reaches the consumer a company is looking to capture.

 

 

 

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

Leave a Reply

