5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

Are you being social on Social Media if no one responds to you?

Leave a comment

For my Social Media 101 class, I thought it would be a interesting idea to send out a survey to find out a little more about some of the people who were following me on my new Twitter account. I made up a survey on Survey Monkey and sent it out to my Twitter followers to find out how they first got started in social media, Well, as of this blog posting, no one as yet replied in over 72 hours. I know people are busy and some receive many tweets, so I sent out the same message out four different times during different times of the day over two days and nothing! I’m starting to wonder if social media is the new  Speakers Corner soapbox of Hyde Park, but now it only just a one way conversation and everyone is walking by , not listening.

Social media is supposed to be a way for companies and people to have dialogues about products, social issues, who is the best person on the Voice. Most of that is happening but, what about the lone person who has something to say and wants to voice that opinion to the world. If you Tweet and there is nobody there to Retweet, does it make a twitter?

I’m still fascinated by the people who follow me on my Twitter feed. I would still like to know how they came to follow me and what opinions they have on my tweets, but most likely I’ll never know! This little experiment has placed some tarnish on the social in Social Media for me. Maybe, I will find the right medium where a dialogue between people on Social Media can happen or maybe I’ll go old school and grab my soapbox and go down to my local park and speak my peace about anything I want! Now where can I buy a soapbox, maybe someone on FaceBook will know.

 

Image

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

Leave a Reply

