5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

A PERSONAL PERSPECTIVE ON SOCIAL MEDIA

Leave a comment

Keeping in touch is hard. For anyone. Time passes and life gets away from you. Email made things a bit faster and easier, but unless you are sending a form letter or mass update, it was still difficult to keep in touch. Then Facebook came along.

As someone who has lived and worked in many different places and has friends scattered across the country, it has been difficult to keep in touch with everyone. How do I keep in touch with people in New York, Connecticut, Los Angeles, Sacramento, the Bay Area as well as those who have moved to Florida, North Carolina, DC, as well as family across the world and, let’s face it, in Minnesota? Social media has allowed me to keep up with different world views through an Iranian friend in Berkeley and a cousin in Dubai, learn more about new connections, and watch the Oscars with people who love pop culture as much as I do – even though we have never met. I can tell who’s watching what game or television show. It has also made it possible for my second cousin in Sacramento, who was a very large part of my life for the 12 years I was in California, to be part of my sister’s wedding planning.

Social media enables me to learn more about those I know and those I have never met (like the pop culture people or the cousin in Dubai). It enables people to connect even after years of absence, and gives hope to finding and reconnecting with people who have played a huge part in making me who I am today.

Why is this important? In just my microcosm, it shows how interconnected we all are. It is possible for one person’s actions or opinions to influence others around the world. Take it to a business or cause level, and it would seem nothing is truly impossible.

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

Leave a Reply

