5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

Who Are You Personally & Professionally In Social Media?

Leave a comment

 

Who are you personally? Who are you professionally? Who are you in social media? This question is becoming even more vital as our lives become more public through social media.

It’s an issue that’s important to me because as I transition from one career to another, I’m trying to figure out how much of who I am personally is important to my new profession. I’ve spent months agonizing over how much of my personal self to share with my professional and public self. Does it matter that I’m an avid “The Big Bang Theory” fan? Would this be the one connection that sets me apart from others? What makes me different from anyone else who could do the very same work?

What does Google and the results say about my conundrum? There’s no consensus that I can find. Some articles say to keep personal and professional separate. Others say to build a brand that combines the two. Indeed, it is an individual decision.

I did find an article worth mentioning. One about.com article went in depth about the options.

You can check it out here.

http://mobileoffice.about.com/od/softwarewebapps/a/managing-social-media-profiles.htm

What am I going to do? For better and for worse, I am who I am. I’m going with my brand “Dawnerd”—a combination of my old college nickname “Dawner” and my adopted brand—that of a “nerd” which happens to be part of the new nickname. I plan on using different social media for separate personal and professional matters.  Facebook is personal. LinkedIn is professional. I also am fully aware that both worlds could collide at any time. It’s a risk I’m willing to take in order to be true to who I am.

What are your thoughts on this? I look forward to reading and responding to them.

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

Leave a Reply

