5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

AUDIENCES!

1 Comment

How do you engage your audience?

Again using my real-world example of KFAI (in keeping with my theme throughout the program), it’s a matter of listening to our audiences. I say “audiences” plural because we have many of them. I think we generally have a good idea of what audiences want in terms of our radio media – but it might be an entirely different story, Social Media-wise.

I think that Social Media for KFAI means giving our audiences important information such as station news, news about the community (we are a community station), upcoming events, interviews and KFAI-sponsored shows and fundraisers. Some of our foreign language shows provide crucial news to communities about their homelands that they would not get anywhere else, and it’s important that our Social Media let people know what’s happening on the air.It’s a mission of mine, as one of those volunteers and a member of the board, to interview as many Fresh Air people as I can and get those stories out there.

I’ve started with a couple interviews with some of the most important people at KFAI, the overnight programmers. These denizens of the night do radio shows from 2:00 to 6:00 a.m. – entertaining the late-night workers, the cabbies, the maintenance workers, the night shifts at the U. Like I said, the important ones.

Only 498 interviews to go….

Capt'n Too Much Free Time

Capt’n Too Much Free Time

-paw (week 5)

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

One thought on “AUDIENCES!

  1. Hey Paw, your piece certainly engaged me. It’s not hard to discern that you love your radio station, and because of your passion for it, I’m going to make it my business to listen to your station to see why you care so much and because I know you have good judgement, so thanks in advance. MDS

Leave a Reply

