5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

Thoughts on Social Media from an Apathetic (at Best) User

Leave a comment

What do you want to learn in Social Media 101?

I hope to learn more about effective tips for using social media as a business marketing and outreach tool. I have had some experience using social media in this capacity, but I can admit that the results were less successful than desired.

What do you like about social media?

I appreciate that social media can be very powerful and that, at its roots, it aims to connect people. Social media has helped create social change and has given organizations a timely and interactive outlet to connect with their customers and publics.

What do you not like about social media?

Even though I understand the value of social media in business, I really just don’t enjoy using social media in my personal life. I was probably the last person on the planet to set up a Facebook account and only did so after a dear friend of mine passed away. She had moved out of town and regularly sent me requests to join and connect on Facebook. I hadn’t stayed in touch with her very well since she moved and didn’t know she was sick, so I was very sad to hear about her passing. My friend’s death motivated me to join Facebook to reconnect with friends, but unfortunately I don’t feel a true sense of “connection” with anyone through social media. I don’t really care about what people ate for breakfast or the hilarious thing their cat just did, and I also don’t care to share these aspects of my life with the world. I would much rather share real world experiences with the people I care about. I guess in that respect, social media has reminded me to value the important relationships in my life and to make sure to make time to stay truly connected. 

-NMJ

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

Leave a Reply

