5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

PT-How much is too much?

Leave a comment

Technology is growing incredibly quickly.  Not long ago, the dings, whistles, and beeps of dial up were part of daily life.  My car still has a cassette deck in it.  Heck, my wife even has a phone to plug into the wall if the power fails.

Facebook is only 9 years old, and Twitter only 7.  Other social media channels have come and gone, and new ones arise every day.  So as PR professionals, which ones should we focus on?  Which will add value to our customers and to us?  And then once that’s determined, how do yo use it to reach your audience?

One new trend may go too far.  That’s the preemptive sending of content.  Here’s the story:

I was riding the bus down Franklin Avenue to school.  At Nicollet, the bus stopped, and then caught the red light.  On the corner next to me was Starbucks.  I had been surfing on my iPhone, using the 4G network.  I looked down while we were stopped, and there was a new page from Starbucks Digital Network. It seems that I was within range, and without even searching, my phone must have connected to their WiFi.

I understand that if I go to Starbucks and log into their WiFi, I will get to their home page.  I’ll see content, ads, and perhaps links to partners.  But when I’m riding the bus, outside on the street?  I don’t think I like that trend.  It’s hard enough to disconnect ourselves.  But when a company can get in my phone unannounced, I get bothered.  It’s coffee for cripes’ sake!

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

Leave a Reply

