5oci4lm3di4101

The Grand Social Media Experiment. We learn by doing.

Dealing with positive/negative comments

Leave a comment

“Social media is the modern form of comment cards for a company; you’re asking for feedback: the good, the bad, and the ugly.” This quote caught my attention. In the early days of my career, my job was to conduct research and analyze the data collected. It made an impression on me.

In the age of digital technology, I find that making a comment, or giving feedback, opens me to unsolicited messages. Dropping a physical comment card allows a writer to be anonymous and you are done. This new technology allows cookies to read and harvest your information. Thus it opens to all sorts of comments.

How then to monitor the reliability of the data collected through online feedback? If it was my job to monitor online comments, is it strategic to respond to all comments? Here’s a good and interesting article that provides tips in dealing with comments

In my current work, I pay more attention to “negative” comments vs. the positive ones. I am confident enough of my abilities but I want to continuously improve myself. So I totally agree with a writer who said, deleting any comment would only mean you don’t care. I am more inclined to respond to “negative” comments as supposed to just saying Thank you to positive comments. I appreciate the comment because someone cared enough to take time. But most importantly, it gives me pause to reflect if it is something I need to incorporate or say thank you anyway. – EJB

Author: 5oci4lm3di4101

We're a class learning about the ins and outs of social media. We learn by doing.

Leave a Reply

